PROCEEDINGS

OF THE

LEGISLATURE

OF THE

COUNTY OF NIAGARA STATE OF NEW YORK

OFFICIAL RECORD

Lockport, New York January 4, 2022

The Legislature of the County of Niagara, State of New York, convened in annual session in the Legislature Chambers, Courthouse, Lockport, New York on Tuesday, January 4, 2022 for the purpose of electing officers for the ensuing year.

County Clerk Joseph Jastrzemski, acting as Chairman pro temp, called the Legislature meeting to order at 6:07 p.m. and gave the invocation.

On roll call the following Legislators were present from the several legislative districts: First Irene M. Myers Second Rebecca J. Wydysh Third Mark J. Grozio Fourth Jeffery Elder Fifth Christopher A. Robins Sixth Christopher Voccio Eighth Richard L. Andres Jr. Ninth Randy R. Bradt Tenth David E. Godfrey Twelfth William J. Collins Thirteenth Richard E. Abbott Fourteenth Shawn A. Foti Fifteenth Michael A. Hill Absent: Seventh Jesse P. Gooch Eleventh Anthony J. Nemi

County Clerk Jastrzemski called Wayne Jagow to the lectern for the prayer and dedication of "In God We Trust" around the County Seal.

County Clerk Jastrzemski administered the oath of office to the 2022 Niagara County Legislators.

The Chairman pro temp Joseph Jastrzemski asked for nominations for temporary Chairman. Moved by Bradt, seconded by Andres, that Legislator Godfrey be nominated for temporary Chairman. Moved by Bradt, seconded by Andres, that the nominations be closed. Carried.

Chairman pro temp Jastrzemski declared Legislator Godfrey as the Temporary Chairman.

Temporary Chairman Godfrey asked for nominations for permanent Chairman. Moved by Godfrey, seconded by Bradt, that Legislator Wydysh be nominated for permanent Chairman. Moved by Godfrey, seconded by Bradt, that the nominations be closed. Carried.

Temporary Chairman Godfrey declared Legislator Wydysh as the Chairman.

Chairman Wydysh took a few minutes to say some remarks and thanked her fellow Legislators for their vote of confidence in her.

Moved by Wydysh, seconded by Collins, to designate Legislator Nemi to serve as Vice Chairman. Moved by Wydysh, seconded by Collins, that nominations be closed. Carried.

Chairman Wydysh designated Legislator Nemi to serve as Vice-Chairman.

Moved by Hill, seconded by Abbott, to appoint Alysa T. Tomasino as the Clerk of the Legislature. Moved by Hill, seconded by Abbott, to close nominations. Carried.

Alysa T. Tomasino was declared the Clerk of the Legislature.

Moved by Collins, seconded by Myers, to nominate Claude A. Joerg as the County Attorney. Moved by Collins, seconded by Myers, to close the nominations. Carried.

Claude A. Joerg was declared the County Attorney.

Moved by Andres, seconded by Hill, to nominate Nicholas B. Robinson as the Public Defender. Moved by Andres, seconded by Hill, to close the nominations. Carried.

Nicholas B. Robinson was declared the Public Defender.

Legislator Bradt announced that Legislator Bradt would serve as Majority Leader, Legislator Hill as First Deputy and Legislator Godfrey as Second Deputy Majority Leader.

Legislator Robins announced that Legislator Robins would serve as Minority Leader, Legislator Grozio as First Deputy and Legislator Elder as Second Deputy Minority Leader.

Moved by Myers, seconded by Voccio, that the Board will meet on the following dates, or at the call of the Clerk of the Legislature. Carried.

NIAGARA COUNTY LEGISLATURE 2022 MEETING SCHEDULE 6:00 P.M.

January

Tuesday, January 4, 2022 (Organizational Mtg.) Tuesday, January 18, 2022

February Tuesday, February 15, 2022

March Tuesday, March 22, 2022

April Tuesday, April 26, 2022

May

Tuesday, May 3, 2022 Tuesday, May 17, 2022

June Tuesday, June 21, 2022

Moved by Chairman Wydysh, seconded by Godfrey, that Vice Chairman Nemi is designated to serve on the

Niagara County Jury Board. Carried.

Moved by Foti, seconded by Collins, to appoint Gary Billingsley as the Attorney for the Aging. Carried.

Moved by Bradt, seconded by Robins, to approve the Standing Committee structure as presented. Carried.

NIAGARA COUNTY 2022 STANDING COMMITTEES

REBECCA J. WYDYSH, CHAIRMAN ANTHONY J. NEMI, VICE CHAIRMAN RANDY R. BRADT, MAJORITY LEADER **CHRISTOPHER ROBINS, MINORITY LEADER**

ADMINISTRATION

(County Manager, County Attorney, Management & Budget, Treasurer, Audit, Real Property, Legislature, Printing/Mailing, Human Resources, Civil Service, Risk Management, Board of Elections)

August Tuesday, August 2, 2022

September Tuesday, September 20, 2022

October Tuesday, October 18, 2022

November Tuesday, November 15, 2022

December Tuesday, December 6, 2022 (Budget Hearings) Tuesday, December 13, 2022 (Budget Vote)

GODFREY, *NEMI*, BRADT, COLLINS, GROZIO, MYERS, ROBINS Co. Attorney - C. Joerg, K. Alexander Secretary- Lisa Serianni, 439-7005

COMMUNITY SERVICES

(Social Services, Employment & Training, Youth Bureau, Office for the Aging, Public Health, Mental Health, NCCC, County Clerk/DMV, Historian, Veterans Services)

GOOCH, *NEMI*, BRADT, ELDER, GODFREY, ROBINS, VOCCIO Co. Attorney – G. Lisowski Secretary – Jackie Langdon, 439-7435

COMMUNITY SAFETY & SECURITY

(Sheriff, District Attorney, Public Defender, Probation, Fire Coordinator/Emergency Services, Coroners, Conflicts and Assigned Council)

HILL, *GODFREY*, ABBOTT, BRADT, ELDER, GOOCH, ROBINS Co. Attorney – Secretary – Joan Rocco, 438-3370

ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT

(Economic Development, Niagara Co. Industrial Development Agency) **ANDRES**, COLLINS, BRADT, ELDER, GODFREY, GROZIO, MYERS Co. Attorney – T. Burgasser Secretary-Cathie Synor, 278-8750

GREENWAY (ad hoc committee-under Economic Development)

ANDRES, NEMI, BRADT, ELDER, FOTI

INFRASTRUCTURE & FACILITIES

(Public Works, Parks/Golf Course, Refuse Disposal District, Sewer District, Water District, Weights & Measures, Information Technology, Buildings & Grounds)

COLLINS, *MYERS*, BRADT, FOTI, GROZIO, HILL, ROBINS Co. Attorney – T. Burgasser (Parks/Golf Course), D. Koplas Secretary- Mary Bergman, 439-7242

REFUSE DISPOSAL DISTRICT (ad hoc committee-under Infrastructure & Facilities)

COLLINS, *BRADT*, HILL, FOTI, GOOCH, GROZIO, MYERS, NEMI, ROBINS, WYDYSH Co. Attorney – G. Lisowski

Moved by Grozio, seconded by Elder, that the two Niagara County newspapers, namely: The Niagara Gazette and the Lockport Union Sun & Journal are designated as the official newspapers. Carried.

Moved by Grozio, seconded by Myers, that the Board adjourn. Carried.

The Chairman declared the Board adjourned at 6:34 p.m., subject to the call of the Clerk.

aupa Tomoisino

Alysa T. Tomasino, Clerk